Because of Fan Tapes, I have watched over at least 30-40 hours of footage, and it seems like there’s no end in sight, which is a great thing. The sad part is that to finish it as a whole will take a while. I guess in the end this is the reason why I chose to release it as a serialized thing… At least people get to see it as it happens…

The bonus has been the podcast. Because originally there was to be no audio version, I never thought to look in The Vault, which is actually several shelves, a box, and a dresser filled with old tapes, reels, and DATs in my studio. The DATs were a good listening experience, since I’ve found a few things I had forgotten about. So the audio portion of fans tapes is going to be really nice. I want to make them all available, but at the same time I worry about how it affects us. All these demos floating around. Some of them sound pretty terrible. I’m afraid people will mistake them for a really immature band.

I don’t think of them as fair representation of who we are, but there is a connection to who we are now in those old tapes. It amazes me how we were written off as a ‘dance’ band. When I hear these demos, I think of the wondrous nature of DIY and how we embraced it early on, even with the worst of gear. Last night I cleaned about 35 minutes worth of rehearsals, demos of stuff that we never got around to, and found more material… Fun!

Today I am rendering video again, which may take about 8 hours or so. To pass the time I worked a little bit on the second video where the A-Bots encounter a very sinister character. I love this thing! I have a few things to prepare before I shoot it, but it will be so much fun to do. I love working with these little guys. They make me feel like I’m 13. Talk about time travel…

So it goes…

— Claude

