I just finished re-reading ‘The Alchemist’ by Paulo Coelho. My mother gave it to me for Christmas. It was one of the best gifts I have ever received, and I find myself drawn to it over and over again. It is a book that will forever remind me that one must never forget one’s dream, no matter how difficult the journey is. And it is a very real omen come into my life as a spiritual object. I don’t know how to even explain this on paper. All I can say is that after reading it once I became fascinated by the curiosity it returned to me. A curiosity that I loved and enjoyed as a child, the same one that later gets jaded by the suffering and brutalities of the real world. And this is where I learned the term, ‘Soul Of The World’.

Now reading it for the second time, I reconnected to a time that I had forgotten about. Long ago, I had a dream of being a writer. It was the first aspiration as an artist that I ever had. Although I was drawing then, my pictures were not expressions but doodles, non seneschal things. The Surrealists had not found me yet. But I was reading all the time. And in that time I wanted to be a writer. I sent out my really awful stories, and they would come back with equally awful rejection slips. But I took it seriously. I marvel at it now as I right this. I typed them on my mom’s old typewriter, setting the paper just as the magazines demanded. I measured the margins, made sure that I sent my query letters out ahead of time and such. The one thing I kept from the publishers was my age. I didn’t want them to know that a child of 13 had sent them this! I wanted them to think of me as a man, a writer!

So the idea that we get a dream at all, and that some of us are given this to us at a very young age… Is awesome. The creativity of the animas mundi knows no bounds. It is in fact, a purveyor of possibility. And it is when we align ourselves to this idea of truly following this dream that we experience truth. Or at least, this is what I’ve come to believe. And yes, this little book awakened this in me once again. It gave me back my true self, the one that fights with the light. The warrior may face many perils in his or her life, but the worst enemy to face is the mirror. Especially if the reflection is not what we hoped for or dreamed of. This is an important lesson.

Now go read this book.

— Claw     

