I found myself dwelling on archetypes this evening, which has proven to me that Rene Magritte was right all along when he approached his pictures not as art, but as an almost mathematical curiosity. So it was that when I picked up my brush, and dirtied my fingers with paint, (something that I’ve not done in what seems like years), all of my lessons from Magritte came back. And thus I began to paint.

The problem, or in this case, the equation was to not over-think but to let the hand guide the gestures on the paper. The picture and the exercises that followed solidified the result, which is a picture that depicts a reality that for me is as real as is this keyboard on which I type, and the screen from which you read. It is this meta-reality, or surreality as it were that holds the keys to new things, new songs, new all. Life really is this simple. You give freely of yourself to others and to creativity, and happiness flows from it. You do not have to lose you in the process. You become the process.

What does all this have to do with Anything Box having a show in Houston. Well, I’m not done painting this picture yet. But we are playing there on April 10th. I may show it to you before then, and you will know what it is all about. I’m not trying to be secretive. I’m not ready yet.

