And so another weekend show ends. It was, I will admit, a rough one. For starters, this show in Minnesota began as an idea way back in June. I was in Lima, Peru at the time. Admittedly, my mind was not on shows but on the mysteries and beautiful nature of being in love, so at first my thoughts were not on it per say. However, eventually as an artist your mind will invariably switch to the craft, to the fans and your obligations. Who can escape them? So in reality, being in artist in this case has nothing to do with it. It is simply part of being human… Working, loving, creating, accepting… So it went…

So yeah, back in June this offer to play in Minneapolis came through. It was not by any means what we usually do, but it was a chance to see a new city, and it was a risk as well. Are we played there? does anyone know Anything Box in Minneapolis? So many questions. I decided to ask Dania and Paul about it and we all agreed: A new city means inroads to further the Abox road. So we agreed to do it. Then I forgot all about it.

The city proved itself to be everything I could ever want in a city, and thus Minneapolis has become one of my favorite cities. It has individualism to the 9th degree, which explains both Information society and Prince quite nicely now. I understand. It has a culture, something that I have been missing in California as of late. Don’t get me wrong, I love California for what it has, but it definitely needs the kindness and warmth I experienced in Minneapolis…

As for the show, it was a strange mix of elation and pain. I set about playing the entire Peace album, and that is just what we did. The order was changed, otherwise ‘Oblivion’ would get played way too early in the set. However this was not without difficulties, as we would soon discover. The album is almost half moody songs and club tracks. so we could have done all slow songs leading up to the finale, but that would be obvious. I opted for little sets, where 2 slower songs led into the faster ones. How wrong was I? well, how do you go from ‘When We Lie’ to ‘all these Hours’? We did it, and it seemed odd, but we rolled with it. After all, no matter what, we were going to do the whole album.

My favorite was ‘Lady In Waiting’, one because it was the first time we did it in its original form, and second because we had done some technical work to save it in the morning hours after breakfast. We almost had to scratch the version, but in the end it all worked out really well…

On the way home from the airport, I suddenly got an idea for a song and wrote it down… Inspired. I loved Minneapolis. Seriously, I could live there…

Claude

